We the undersigned; the Federal Republic of West Papua (NRFPB), West Papua National Coalition of Liberation (WPNCL), West Papua National Parliament (WPNP/New Guinea Raad), have conducted the Summit on West Papuan Unification at Saralana, Port Vila, Vanuatu, from 30th November – 6th December 2014.

In the name of the people, the nation and the land of West Papua, we do declare today the 6th December 2014 at the Chief’s Nakamal, at Saralana, Port Vila, Vanuatu, that the undersigned groups have united and established the United Liberation Movement for West Papua (ULMWP), a body representing all resistance organizations both inside and outside West Papua.

We declare and claim that all West Papuans, both inside and outside West Papua, are united under this new body and that we will continue our struggle for independence.

This meeting has been conducted pursuant to the decision made by the Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG) in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea in June 2014, that West Papuan independence organisations must first unite before an application for membership can be re-submitted to the Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG). We are now united and will re-submit an application under this new body, the ULMWP.

We are determined that the United Liberation Movement for West Papua (ULMWP) becomes the coordinating body to support all international efforts to regain our sovereignty. In order to support this, we have formed a secretariat of five people; Benny Wenda, Jacob Rumbiak, Leonie Tanggahma, Octovianus Mote and Rex Rumakiek, and representing the three largest resistance organisations and also all non-affiliated resistance organisations that support our struggle. We will maintain our existing organisations but commit to be united by the coordinating efforts of the United Liberation Movement for West Papua.

This important and historic declaration has been made possible through the faithful efforts of the Vanuatu Government, Malvatumarui National Council of Chiefs, the Vanuatu Christian Council, the Pacific Conference of Churches and the commitment of the following liberation organisations:

This Declaration is signed at the Chiefs’ Nakamal, Port Vila, on this day Sixth of December, Two Thousand and Fourteen, by:

Federal Republic of West Papua
Ev. Edison Kladius Waromi SH

West Papua National Coalition for Liberation
Rex Rumakiek

West Papua National Parliament
Buchtar Tabuni

Witnessed by:

Chief Senimao Tirsupe Mol Torvakavat
President of Malvatumauri Council of Chiefs

Pastor Shem Tema, The General Secretary
Vanuatu Christian Council

Rev. François Pihaatae, The General Secretary
Pacific Conference of Churches

Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Vanuatu,
Barak Tame Sope Maautamate

Deklarasi Saralana

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s